My Writing Day : Pauline Woodhouse

A different take on my series of guest blogs about how writers write.

Pauline

SOME DAYS

Some days, way more than actually writing,

I do more drinking coffee, (yes let’s call it coffee) while pondering;

Allowing my thoughts to do some wild-walk wandering,

You know, like trimming words and pruning phrases,

Then mentally planting them in sunnier places.

And occasionally I may get an inspirational inkling

To rebel and do some radical free-thought sprinkling.

But then, to allow growth for my new little seedling,

I have to do some radical … ‘weedling’.

So now, I’ve uprooted and rearranged the literary undergrowth of jungle (in my head)

And transported redundant chunks of it, in bulk, to a wordy-weed infested dump instead,

Which I might take a sneaky peep at now and then;

When, inevitably, I feel the overwhelming urge … another poem to pen.

And when, at last, I feel enough’s enough,

I may get round to actually writing stuff.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

