Beating Time

36963490-horizontal-shot-of-a-vintage-metronome-on-a-black-background[1]

‘I know I have to beat time when I learn music.’

`Ah! that accounts for it,’ said the Hatter. `He won’t stand beating. Now, if you only kept on good terms with him, he’d do almost anything you liked with the clock. For instance, suppose it were nine o’clock in the morning, just time to begin lessons: you’d only have to whisper a hint to Time, and round goes the clock in a twinkling! Half-past one, time for dinner!’ One of my favourite quotes from “Alice in Wonderland”  sums up what I feel about Time. It is something that can be manipulated, bargained with, plodded through, or managed so that it slips away almost without being noticed. Or it can be broken up into a chunks ; manageable chunks of thirty minutes, which work perfectly when I am writing. For thirty minutes I concentrate on what I am doing. At the end of that time, I stop, even if I’m in mid sentence and go and do something else.

When I started working like that at the beginning of 2016, I thought that it would be hard to pick up where I left off. To my surprise the opposite proved true. Not only is it easy to pick up the thread, but I am actually much keener on getting back to the computer than I would have been after a straight hour or two staring at the screen. And as an added bonus, by breaking up my writing time into these smaller units I am getting much more done. This may not work for everyone but I can certainly recommend you try it.
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

