Minding Maddy

Maddy's naughty look  I spent last weekend in sole charge of my  three year old granddaughter. Minding Maddy was a full time, full on occupation. From the moment she woke up, to the moment she fell asleep she was the centre of my attention. Not because she is a naughty or difficult child but because the whole point of time spent together was to enjoy being with one another.

We read books, we watched Frozen, highly overrated in my opinion, but Mads knows every frame and talked me through the scary bits. We played going on a picnic which involved packing up toy food in a teddy bear back pack and making a fire on the kitchen floor. We also went to see SS. Great Britain and Mads took me around the ship, which she knew from previous visits and made sure we found the man in the toilet and the girl being sick in a basin. She was also keen on the medical room and with the bottles of leaches.

I loved every minute of my weekend, even the tentative knock on my door at 2am. It also got me thinking. The whole experience was completely absorbing; there was no time to worry, or fritter time everything was immediate and concentrated. In fact it was an extended exercise in Mindfulness.

And what impact did it have on my writing?

Coming home, after a good night’s sleep, I was ready to get back to work. I was also reminded of the importance of concentrating on one thing at a time. To be fully focused  is satisfying and efficient and makes the best use of time, either for writing, being with people, or even day dreaming.

Thanks Maddy.

Leave a Reply

